

## **News Release**

September 24, 2024 For Immediate Release Contact: Diana Garcia, Program Manager, 308-345-4223

## **Clean Indoor Air Act Revisited**

Southwest Nebraska Public Health Department (SWNPHD) is assisting cities and villages in the health district with education and inspections for the Clean Indoor Air Act. In 2008, Nebraska passed the Clean Indoor Air Act requiring indoor workplaces to be smoke-free as of June 1, 2009. The purpose of this act is to protect the public's health from secondhand smoke by prohibiting smoking in public places and places of employment.

This protection is no longer limited to just cigarettes. Studies have shown that all secondhand exposure to cigarettes, e-cigarettes and vaping devices can be harmful to your health. As a result of this, the Clean Indoor Air Act was expanded to include electronic smoking devices. The expansion of the law went into effect on November 14, 2020.

The aerosol that is emitted from an e-cigarette is not harmless water vapor. The aerosol can contain harmful chemicals including:

- Nicotine
- Fine and ultrafine particles that can be inhaled deep into the lungs
- Dangerous chemicals linked to lung disease (flavorings)
- Organic compounds like those found in car exhausts
- Heavy metals such as nickel, tin, and lead

"Continuing to reduce exposure to secondhand smoke and aerosol is vital to improving public health," states Diana Garcia, Program Manager at SWNPHD.

SWNPHD has free "No smoking or e-cigarettes" door decals available for your business or workplace. You can request them by calling 308-345-4223 or emailing <u>info@swhealth.ne.gov</u>.

If you are ready to quit smoking, the Nebraska Tobacco Quitline has tools and resources to help. You can call 1-800-QUIT-NOW, text QUITNOW to 333888 or enroll on the QuitNow.ne.gov website. In addition, there are youth services available for individuals under 18 by texting "START MY QUIT" to 36072. For more information, visit our website <u>swhealth.ne.gov</u>.

For more information contact SWNPHD at 308-345-4223. Southwest Nebraska Public Health Department serves Chase, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Hayes, Hitchcock, Keith, Perkins, and Red Willow counties. The website swhealth.ne.gov contains many resources and additional information helpful to prevent disease, promote and protect health. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and TikTok.